“If I could live a perfect day, what would that look like?” – Todd Brison (Podcast)

6d07e-10499305_1414122858808259_127247466_n

 
As I mentioned earlier, I’m planning on quitting my day job and becoming a full-time freelancer as of March, 2017. I’ve been working on my new portfolio and connecting with people online to find out how they did it, and I’m really excited.

Of course, I also feel a bit anxious about the whole thing. It’s not like I have the financial freedom to not earn money, so the thought that I won’t be getting a steady income is making me waver a bit. But enough of that, I’ll save the angst for paper.

I’ve been listening to a podcast between the founder of Epic Freelancing, Josh Hoffman, and the author of The Creative’s Curse, Todd Brison. The Creative’s Curse is about learning to live with the thing that’s holding you back from realising your creative life.

One of the questions Brison asks really made me thing: “If I could live a perfect day, what would that look like?”

And I realised, I have had perfect days. It’s not lying on the beach on a remote island. I’ve been there, done that, got bored on the third day.

So, what would my perfect day look like?

I would get up really early and take the dog for a walk. I won’t be too tired and grumpy from the daily grind, and I would feel the cool air on my skin as the sun comes up, all the while trying to dissuade her from peeing on the neighbours’ lawns. Walking is a massive part of my thinking process.

I would get home after 45 minutes, take a shower, make a pot of tea or coffee and settle in behind my laptop. I will not open my email, I will not check Facebook or Twitter. I will write, really write, for a few hours until I’m satisfied.

Then I’ll have more coffee, and decide what to do next. I would divide my writing up into three sections: Creative writing (a novel, or a long-form project) early in the morning, followed by mid-morning writing for money (short-term projects) and writing for relationships (long-term pitches). I would do the work that scares me the most first, because I had an editor who taught me that in writing it’s important to swallow the frog.

In the evening, my husband would come home from school and we would have dinner and watch Netflix and cuddle. And I won’t be grumpy because I spent my creative energy in a positive way.

And that would be my day. I’d designate one day for admin like invoicing and speaking to people, and the rest I would just do the thing I love to do: write and research and be myself. I might even start a podcast or a BookTube account in which I talk about the books I’m reading or the places I’d like to visit. I’d resume my creative journal keeping, I’d plan lessons on creative writing that I could teach at local libraries or schools.

I would love to have the flexibility to go to international book fairs and to get paid to write about these events.

And I would read. Oh, to have enough hours in the day to read undisturbed. To read quality articles, good books, not just scrolling the headlines endlessly.

I know it’s a simple day, but this is what I want. I guess, the ideal is to do what I like, and to find people who want to read the end results.

I’m so happy I listened to this podcast. Thank you, Josh Hoffman and Todd Brison.

Leave a Reply

