My creative writing journey: I wrote a book and started another blog

I’ve been neglecting my blog a bit lately. I’ve finished six books in the last two months that I still need to review: The Reactive by Masande Ntshanga (loved it, finished it in six hours!), We Are Not Such Things by Justine van der Leun (strained my eyes trying to stay awake to read just one more chapter!), The Textures of Shadows by Mandla Langa (couldn’t put it down, fell in love with the characters), Three Moments of an Explosion: Stories by China Miéville (didn’t understand half of it but loved it all the same), Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov (brilliant but not my thing) and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows (this book will become an heirloom).

It’s partly owing to the last book that I am no longer as active on my blog (more on that later) but the main reason is that I have written a little book. It’s more like a novella, with a small child as my protagonist, and hopefully I’ll be submitting it soon to the Sanlam Prize for Youth Fiction.

So there’s that.

Then, there’s also my new blog. Don’t worry, I’m not cheating on my old blog, I’m just expanding my creative writing horizons. Dear Juliet was inspired by the aforementioned The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and is an exercise in writing an epistolary narrative.

Hopefully it will turn into something great!

Leave a Reply

