Reflections on my goodreads challenge: So far, not so good (but I’ll keep on trying)

At the beginning of the year I made a foolhardy decision: I publicly pledged to read 100 books this year. Mathematics has never been my best subject, and once my husband pointed out that I’d have to read at least two books a week I promptly changed it to 50 books. One book a week, that’s possible right?

So I embarked on the goodreads challenge to read 50 books this year. I started off strong, reading up to five books in January. (Note that I was unemployed at the time, waiting for my work contract in Korea which only started in February, so it wasn’t that difficult to polish off a book and a bit a week.)

We are at the eight-month mark and on Sunday I finally managed to finish book number 20 on my list, Rusty Bell by Nthikeng Mohlele.

If you go to my goodreads page and click on my challenge you’ll see all the books I’ve read so far this year. There are a few Afrikaans ones that I reviewed for Taalgenoot in the beginning of the year, as well as ones that I just read for fun. You’ll also note a picture book by Eric Carle. No, I’m not cheating. I read at least three different children’s books a week to my kids at school and that one book represents all of them. By the end of the year I would surely have read enough children’s books to fill a full-length novel.

I can’t even choose a favourite, because they’re all so different and have influenced my thinking in so many ways.

So I may not finish 50 books by the end of the year (unless I read eight book a month till December) but each book has been beneficial to my development as a reader and thinker.

Here’s to the next four months!

One thought on “Reflections on my goodreads challenge: So far, not so good (but I’ll keep on trying)

Leave a Reply

