“Look up” – The Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge

This week is all about taking a moment to check out what’s going on above you.

I live in the city of Daegu, in the Seogu District in Jungri-dong. Most mornings I’m too bleary-eyed to look up, and these days it’s so hot you just keep on trudging forward, squinting into the sunlight, trying not to burn to a crisp.

But this morning, I had a new photo challenge to complete, so I looked up. And this is what I saw.

Lyrics: “Naked as we came” by Iron and Wine”

20160713_080815 (1)

 
She says “wake up, it’s no use pretending”
I’ll keep stealing, breathing her.
Birds are leaving over autumn’s ending

20160713_080456

 
One of us will die inside these arms
Eyes wide open, naked as we came
One will spread our ashes ’round the yard

20160713_075719 (1)

 
She says “If I leave before you, darling
Don’t you waste me in the ground”
I lay smiling like our sleeping children

20160713_082016

 
One of us will die inside these arms
Eyes wide open, naked as we came
One will spread our ashes round the yard

2 thoughts on ““Look up” – The Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. Pingback: Look up (Front) | What's (in) the picture?

  2. Pingback: Take a moment and look up #Istanbul – My Arab Life

Leave a Reply

