Intro to Poetry, Day 3: “friend”

I recently started a 10-day #introtopoetry course, courtesy of WordPress. (You can sign up too.) My third assignment is “friend” and the added challenge is to give acrostic a try.

 
This is a terrible poem, because I’m too sad to think.
You deserve so much better than this, so much better than me.
But here goes:

Prettiest dog so far from me, many months later, I still miss you.
I know that I will never be quite as happy as when I had you in my life.
Precious child, I’ll remember our walks, our talks and our reading sessions with a heavy heart.
Please forgive me for leaving you, or rather, forget that I ever existed in your world
And live, happy and content, with all the other people I wish I hadn’t left behind.

Read my first and second attempt at writing poetry.

7 thoughts on “Intro to Poetry, Day 3: “friend”

  1. Pingback: Intro to Poetry, Day 4: “journey” | Reviews on a Train

  2. Pingback: Intro to Poetry, Day 5: “imperfect” | Reviews on a Train

  3. Pingback: Intro to Poetry, Day 6: “screen” | Reviews on a Train

  4. Pingback: Intro to Poetry, Day 7: “flavour” | Reviews on a Train

  5. Pingback: Intro to Poetry, Day 8: “plesier” | Reviews on a Train

  6. Pingback: Intro to Poetry, Day 9: “landscape” | Reviews on a Train

  7. Pingback: Intro to Poetry, Day 10: “future” | Reviews on a Train

Leave a Reply

