Oooooh, that smell!

Write down the first sight, sound, smell, and sensation you experienced on waking up today. Pick the one you’re most drawn to, and write. (For a bigger challenge, pick the one you’re least drawn to.)

Mouldy shirts on rainy days
Ironed dry
Keep my arms to my side

Like winter days of sweaters and school trousers
Who’s that smell?
Look around like a guilty fart
Not I, no. Damn.

All eyes on me.
The smelly kid with the weird face.

I open my eyes and it cloys and clings
Monday morning laundry before tea or sex.

Leave a Reply

