Red leather buckled shoes

Was there a special gift or toy you wanted as a child but never received? What was it?

I don’t remember when or where I saw them, but since I was a little girl I’ve had this image of red leather shoes with a red leather strap and a silver buckle in my head. The shoes were round at the toes and had the slightest of heels, with a slight flower pattern on the front, and I imagined wearing them with white pattered bobby socks and my hair in pigtails.

Of course there was no money to indulge my every whim, and I’m not embittered by it. Growing up poor has taught me to work for what I want. I just like to remember my red leather shoes.

2 thoughts on “Red leather buckled shoes

    • It could be…but I’ve never actually seen the wizard of oz. And when I was that age I wasn’t reading English books yet. But you’re right, perhaps I saw it in a picture book, because I do know what you’re talking about. Oh the things we learn when we’re not paying attention!

Leave a Reply

