This is not what this blog was meant to be.

When I started this blog a few short months ago, it was in preparation for my creative writing future. I named it “Word Craft”, because I wanted to write prose and poetry, and hone my skills in order to apply for a Masters programme in creative writing at the University of Cape Town.

But I got side tracked by site stats and how many likes I could get. I quickly figured out (it’s not rocket science, I did study journalism) that a post with photographs get more clicks than a post that’s too text heavy. The same goes for posts about personal stuff, or posts that offer advice and encouragement.

But I am not a great photographer. Nor am I an agony aunt, or someone who likes to blurt to the blogosphere about her emotions, likes and dislikes. That’s not what this was supposed to be. I started out strong, with short stories and poems and even a cartoon, but I was new and nobody knew me. Then I started doing The Daily Post’s daily and weekly challenges, and they are awesome, but that is all I’ve been doing. I haven’t done anything truly creative in a long time. It’s nobody’s fault but my own. Problem is I don’t know what to do now.

Do I pack up and move my creativity to journals, where I’ll miss out on feedback from real people? Or do I try some more, push through the sludge to publish something creative, even if it doesn’t get me as many likes as before? Or do I start something completely new? I think this picture by Austin Kleon sums up how I feel all the time about writing. how?

3 thoughts on “This is not what this blog was meant to be.

  1. I think many people have that issue with things winding up differently than they planned. You’ll know what the right move is when it’s time. ‘Till then, might as well keep writing here 😉

Leave a Reply

