Circle of Five

A writer once said, “You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” If this is true, which five people would you like to spend your time with?

Only five people? I don’t think I could live with only five people. (Although I guess no one said it would ONLY be with those five people.) When I first thought about this list I envisioned spending time with great writers and dead poets, as well as handsome male TV stars. My fantasy list is thus: Sylvia Plath, Byron, Spencer Reid (from Criminal Minds), Virginia Woolf and Jack Kerouac. But then I imagine this hang out a little bit further. I’d probably be too intimidated to open my mouth, and Byron and Sylvia would steal the show with their emotional outbursts and dramatic perceptions of life. Virginia and Jack would probably sit on opposite ends of the room, Virginia glaring at the vulgarities over the rim of her teacup, Jack leaning back in an armchair and composing a vibrant account of the meeting through the haze of his cigarette smoke and the vapor from the ice cubes in his whiskey. Later that night Sylvia would seduce Reid, if only to make the much older Byron sufficiently lustfully jealous, and because I’m such a wallflower I wouldn’t even object that she’s stealing my genius boy from under my nose. At some point during the night my boyfriend would enter the room and witness my pathetic attempt at making friends with famous people, and he would look at me with those sad blue eyes that he gets when I underestimate my potential, and say, “Oh Tjietjie, let’s get these people out of here.”

Which brings me to my real list of five people that make my life better.

Sean (My boyfriend, and by association his grandmother and family who’ve accepted me into their lives)

Not only does he improve my vocabulary, he believes in me, and inspires me to be good.

My university friends (For the purpose of this challenge they form an entity and will be represented as one person. They know who they are.)

No matter where in the world I find myself, they are always there to offer me advice or wine, depending on the crisis.

My school friends. (They also know who they are.)

We went through puberty together. Enough said.

My early childhood friend. 

We went through the beginning on this life together. We’ve seen each other grow. It’s a bond that can’t be broken by distance or difference.

My future German Shepherd

He’s not been found yet, but he will complete the family of five.

Yes, I know I cheated in this challenge, but I’m too lucky to have so many people who care about me to care.

 

2 thoughts on “Circle of Five

  1. Well I like your choices, as mine would have been similar. However unless you have perfect the ability to extract ewach persons conciousness and blend them within a cybernetic shell..
    Oh if you have perfected the process, can I recommend a few worthy people 🙂

Leave a Reply

