12/12/12 in a nutshell

The year is drawing to a close. What would you put in a 2012 time capsule?

This was the year I wasn’t sure about. I decided to stay in Korea, even though I wasn’t happy with the day-to-day grind of working and waning and never feeling like it’s going anywhere. Now at the end of my two-year teaching job, I still feel insecure and not confident at all about myself, but I’m a glass half full kinda girl, so in this post I’d like to make a list of all the things I accomplished this year, if only to make myself feel better on this dreary Wednesday morning.

Books

I am proud about all the books I read this year every morning on the subway on my way to work.

  • On the road and The Vanity of Doluoz by Jack Kerouac
  • White teeth by Zadie Smith
  • Iron Council and King Rat by China Mieville (and his Embassytown is on my shelf waiting to be read next.)
  • The curious incident of the dog in the nighttime by Mark Haddon
  • Jitterbug Perfume by Tom Robbins
  • Zoo City by Lauren Beukes
  • Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom
  • The Serenity graphic novels by Josh Whedon
  • The name of the rose by Umberto Eco
  • Dirk Gently’s holistic detective agency by Douglas Adams
  • Equal Rites by Terry Pratchett
  • Pygmy by Chuck Palahniuk
  • Nobody Move by Denis Johnson
  • The Electric Acid Kool Acid Test by Tom Wolfe
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the looking-glass by Lewis Carroll
  • Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut
  • (This list is subject to being updated when my memory fades into being later this day)

Small victories

I will also put in my time capsule the good things I did and learnt this year:

  • I embraced cooking and have put forward a few decent meals for boyfriend and I.
  • I, against my will and preconceived bias, started and maintained a blog since September.
  • I have resisted the urge to smash people’s smartphones under my heels.
  • I have made writing a priority in my life.
  • I went camping on an island.
  • I ate live octopus.
  • I managed to get through this year without losing my cool all over the place.
  • I have not yet cut off my own ears to ward off auditory disturbances, popping gum, smacking lips, and brain sweltering smartphone ringtones and game tones.

A rather successful year 2012 has been. But now I’m over it. Bring on March 2013!

Leave a Reply

