Childhood Revisited

Daily prompt: What is your earliest memory? Describe it in detail, and tell us why you think that experience was the one to stick with you.

Most of my childhood days were spent indoors. I was lucky to start reading at a young age, and to find a good friend in the town librarian. I spent all my young days there, reading and learning and finding joy in the world of books. Growing up in the arid Karoo semi-dessert had its perks, I could spend long summer Christmases with my nose in a book and my head in the clouds. Those are the parts I choose to remember.

Korreltjie

Die somers was lank en stowwerig

In die vol rakke van jou hemel

Die winters dig en sonnerig

Jou Benson & Hedges No 1’s krap my keel.

Tussen blaaie en beelde

En miere op papiere

En plate en Bach en als

Leer ek leer, leer ek.

Pappa knip die wingerdstok.

’n Verlate korreltjie rol

Rol rol rol oor die sement

Rol rol rol verder en verder

So ver so ver tot die aarde

Saam rol  rol en rol tot

My beelde ingee en hande en voete

en velle saamvou en meesleur

Die somers was lank en stowwerig

Die korreltjie rond en rollerig

Pappa knip die lote

Groen, grou, grond

Tot die korreltjie vertrap

Bloei in die grys stof

Die papier rooi en rooi gevlek

Leave a Reply

