My happy place

funny-book-walking-clipartDaily prompt: A sanctuary is a place you can escape to, to catch your breath and remember who you are. Write about the place you go to when everything is a bit too much.

Well this one is easy. My happy place is in books. I remember the first time I was able to read a book by myself. It was the start of a long and beautiful journey that has helped me through hard times. The journey took a dip in university where I started studying English and Afrikaans literature and stopped reading for pleasure, but after university my eyes reopened to so many genres I never attempted before. Free from the bias of academia and deeply influenced by the reading habits of my nerdy boyfriend, I now read fantasy and science fiction, magical realism and comic books, and I love it. It’s not just escapism, it’s a new way of seeing the world. Before critics and scholars started telling me how to read, I was free in my fairy tales and fantasies. I grew up poor and disheveled, and few people believed that I would amount to anything, but books instilled in me a sense of purpose, perseverance, and the ability to imagine the world any which way I like, contrary to rules and reality.  Books, books, books – the only thing I can’t imagine is a world without them.

funny-kid-reading-books-clipart

8 thoughts on “My happy place

Leave a Reply

