Alice beheaded (you can guess where this is going)

Open your nearest book to page 82. Take the third full sentence on the page, and work it into a post somehow.

The nearest book at hand is Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. The third sentence on page 82 (and the sentences are quite long) reads thus:

“Alice began to feel very uneasy: to be sure, she had not as yet had any dispute with the Queen, but she knew that it might happen any minute, “and then,” thought she, “what would become of me?”

“In fact”, she said, “I do believe

The Queen doth have it in for me.

And if I stay and play croquet

She would indeed discharge my head.

So let me to the wings retreat,

and perhaps find something nice to eat.”

But the Queen hath eyes like razor claws

and saw Alice making towards the doors.

“Come hither!” she cried, and Alice obliged.

“Let me see your head.

It’s shapely and round and snug as a bug.

I must have it next to my bed.

Off with her head! Off with it, I say!

I must have it next to my nest!”

And before Alice could say boo or nay,

the Knave of hearts

(who ate the tarts)

Swung his blade from hip to floor

And with one clean slice relieved our lass

Of her head which she would use no more.

The end

5 thoughts on “Alice beheaded (you can guess where this is going)

Leave a Reply

