I wish I were…

“I know you are here to kill me. Shoot, coward, you are only going to kill a man.” – Che Guevara

 

I wish I were a revolutionary

I’d stomp and blast past fear and hate

I’d kick and twist and blow down

your houses of corruption.

I wish I were a freedom fighter

I’d slaughter the oppressors at their own front gates,

put their heads on sticks as future warning:

We mean business, we won’t be won.

I wish I were strong in my head and heart

could make a swift decision and act on it.

I wish I were what I believed I’d be when I was five.

I wish I were a rock,

Steady and brave in the highest waters of destruction.

I wish I were a woman with a voice.

7 thoughts on “I wish I were…

Leave a Reply

